Transferring an already registered domain name involves changing the registrar company that handles the domain name registration service, so after the transfer, you’ll have to manage things like renewal payments or DNS modifications through the new company. The transfer process is standard with most generic and country-code domain name extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and entail different steps, but in the general case transferring a domain entails several basic procedures and one of them is unlocking the domain. The lock is a safety option, which is being embraced by more and more domain registry operators. It is a default feature supported by all generic Top-Level Domains. If a domain name is locked, it won’t be possible to initiate a transfer procedure, so nobody can even try to take your domain name. The lock can be removed only through the account where the domain is registered and all new domains that support this option are locked by default the moment they are registered.
Registrar Lock in Cloud Hosting
The Hepsia hosting Control Panel, which is included with each and every cloud hosting plan that we offer, will give you full command over your domain names. You’ll see all domains registered through our company conveniently displayed in alphabetical order in a separate Control Panel section. Those whose extensions support the registrar lock option will have a mini padlock icon on their right. By clicking the icon, you can find out if the particular domain is locked or unlocked and you can update the current status by clicking once more – the process is as straightforward as that. You won’t have to wait for the change to take effect or for our company to do anything, as the status change takes effect instantaneously, even if you notice something different on WHOIS lookup sites. After all, it takes time for such websites to ‘refresh’ the details that they display.